What are the sources of Gluten?

The Big 2: Wheat, Barley (known as Jo in India)

Wheat

Wheat is commonly found in:

  • breads
  • baked goods
  • soups
  • pasta
  • cereals
  • sauces
  • salad dressings
  • Fried snacks
  • Backed snacks
  • Chocolates
  • And many more…

Barley

Barley is commonly found in:

  • malt (malted barley flour, malted milk and milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar)
  • food coloring
  • soups
  • beer
  • Brewer’s Yeast

The 1 unknown: Rye (Is a grain mainly produced in USA not in India) 

Usually people in India get confused with Rye as Rai ( Black Mustard Seeds) but Rai is different with Rye.

Rye is commonly found in:

  • rye bread, 
  • rye beer
  • cereals

Other Grains

Oats

Oats can add diversity and offer many nutritional benefits to the gluten-free diet. Celiac Disease Foundation’s medical experts recommend only oats labeled gluten-free as cross-contact may occur when oats are grown side-by-side with wheat, barley or rye.

Patients eating oats from any source may complain of symptoms. This could be due to one or more of several factors, including intolerance to the increase in fiber, food intolerances, contamination with gluten, or, rarely, the development of an immune response to oat protein, similar to that occurring due to gluten.

The decision to include oats in your diet should be made with your physician or dietitian and should include monitoring of your anti-tissue transglutaminase (anti-tTG) antibody levels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *